A new face creates inspiration and new beginnings!

this is my MSD Asian Ball Jointed Doll Sera, It is my greatest aspiration to grasp the ability to give her a beautifully painted face.  I hope that I have begun to make progress

this is my MSD Asian Ball Jointed Doll Sera, It is my greatest aspiration to grasp the ability to give her a beautifully painted face. I hope that I have begun to make progress

 

So, remember on that introductory post of mine I mentioned something about ‘BJD’s’?  Well this my friends is what a BJD is.  They are hand-cast in resin (which is a true artform in itself as many pieces do not come out of the molds correctly) and created from a hand-sculpted work of art.  Each delicate piece is carefully molded as to properly fit together and could be easily broken with a harsh fall or applied pressure.  They are held together by a thick elastic cord which can be tightened when the doll seems to be ‘floppy’ or ‘disjointed’.  There is an art form in being able to paint a face this small, which is why I endeavor to improve my skill of customizing these beautiful pieces of art (and maybe someday I will be able to sculpt one of my own, as of yet, I am nowhere near good enough to do so).

Leave a Reply

